A pause to play

Hello. I’ve been snaking across India so fast that by the time I was hanging out the door of my train car, watching the desert pelt by, I felt simple and enormous relief – because the landscape was finally moving as fast as my experience and that synchronicity let me begin to think.

Then the train slowed to a stop and I sped back up. I’ve begun to feel the pinch of timerunningout and I think this minor marathon was partly inspired by that; I have less than two months left in Andhra Pradesh and here I am wanting to see all of India while I have a chance.

But India is big.

.

It all started when my parents dropped in. I took them straight to you-know-where for a visit and then we picked up and went to Kerala. Kerala is renowned as beautiful, as soothing & relaxing, as tropical & fragrant with spices, but unfortunately the hype mostly obscures the beauty and relaxation. And I don’t believe that they have 100% literacy.
Even so :

Kerala from very, very high above

We had a lot of opinions about the 5-hour rumbles up and down the mountain

We sauntered our way into Jew Town in Kochi, to visit the synagogue built there in 1568, on just exactly the days that it’s closed to the public each week. We went to see, at least, on Saturday morning… and, being Jewish, were ushered right in to hear part of the services. It is beautiful inside with pinks and blues of glass chandeliers, hanging textiles, Chinese floor tiles, and a man chanting in the middle of it all.

And we went to Delhi. I don’t like Delhi particularly more than any other city I’ve visited, but I’ve found a few spots in Delhi where I could happily visit every day, forever.

Lodi Gardens was as wonderful as I remembered.

The National Gallery of Modern Art was as wonderful as I could have hoped.

Impulsively dropping by a concert at the Ravi Shankar Centre was beyond imagination and description, good. Holi was colorful beyond what I could photograph (since I didn’t want the interior of my camera to turn pink). There was the clash of Glaser-on-India, there was frustration, and there was food.

And then – they left. The assault of outside perspectives left me with as much to think about as I’m sure the assault of India left them. One week ago, they left me with this tiny sliver of twomonthsleft in India, and there I was wanting to see all of it. Give me a day or two to figure out what happened next.

2 Comments

Filed under Agra, Delhi, flora, holidays, Hyderabad, India, Kerala, music, Sphoorti Foundation

2 responses to “A pause to play

  1. Mom and Dad

    It was so great to see you, you are a wonderful host and you took fantastic care of us! Also, when we were “so alone” you were there, and also, RAVI SHANKAR sat right behind us, at the RAVI SHANKAR Center!! By the way, your Spoorti kids obviously love you and were awesome.

  2. Pingback: It’s amazing - « Travel Maven, Large Jet

Leave a Reply

