3 dimensions of Maharastra : Second is set in stone

Fifteen minutes before I left Mumbai, I found out I had made it off the waitlist and onto the train that would take me to Ellora Caves, where who should I run into but…

You can't be serious! What are you doing here?

It's really too funny that we just happen to be here at the same time. And I have to say, you are looking very nice on that Nandi.

Of course you're right, it is a place worth visiting - it's still funny though. (You'll have to imagine the gecko in this one.)

I actually did run into someone I know at the Ellora Caves, a woman who I last spoke with at the Fulbright conference in Pondicherry, but we were both slightly too overwhelmed with this place or slightly too used to India to spend much effort being surprised.

Let me clarify something : “caves” is the wrong word for Ellora.

I don’t know a better word for 1600 years of history and 3 religions carved out of rock that would otherwise simply be a mountain, though.

1 Comment

Filed under fauna, India

One response to “3 dimensions of Maharastra : Second is set in stone

Leave a Reply

